Tags

, , , ,

~ Lines ~

Harvest Moon – Milwaukie, Oregon – Spring 2012

~~**~~

~~**~~

I used the Nikon L16 for this shot – f4.7, .75 sec, ISO-800, 17mm fl.  Driving from Vancouver to my friend Jenny’s several weeks ago, I noticed a huge harvest moon coming over the horizon… hard to capture on my rather simple camera in a large metropolitan area with too many obstructions and ambient light.  There was no post-exposure manipulation done to this image.

This shot, an accidental shutter click but the best of the lot, was taken in a quiet residential neighborhood with no streetlights.  The orange line is a solitary traffic light down the hill and the dotted lines are porch lights; I’m not sure why they came out dotted.  And, of course… the fat yellow line is the moon.

I was going to toss this, but the more I looked at it, the more I liked the abstractness and minimalism of the image.  I have since had the image enlarged and framed.  Tina says this is one of her favorites.  🙂

~*~

©  2012 – Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw.  All Rights Reserved.

