Tags

, , , ,

I wrote this poem originally as an entry for Lilys’ Friday Prediction Challenge over at Lily Childs’ Feardom.  I consider Lily a mentor in my journey of exploration of horror and urban fantasy.  I hope you enjoy.

Carnelian Sky

WHAT DREAMS MAY COME

By Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw

Mortar and pestle mix two into one,

Dark, bitter organia pinches the tongue.

Silent demons tell what must be done.

*

Do you understand my fate?

Running… then waiting… always too late.

The path I am given leads not to a gate.

*

‘Neath the vast carnelian sky,

Clouds of rose and red drifting by.

At my feet then does eternity lie,

Gasoline rainbow reflected in my eye.

*

‘Twixt mushroom and toadstool,

I cannot, but try to understand…

Truth is only an illusion, devised by man.

With lit match, Death now makes a fool.

*

Two into one… now undone.

*

~~finis~~

© 2011 – Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw.  May not be reprinted without permission.  Please direct all inquiries to:  veronicathepajamathief@gmail.com

